IIDA is proud to announce the winners of the 2022 Student Design Competition, sponsored by OFS and Carolina.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
2022 student design competition winner

IIDA is proud to announce the winners of the 2022 Student Design Competition, sponsored by OFS and Carolina. The annual competition provides students the opportunity to showcase their talent and creativity while also gaining valuable experience and exposure in the industry. This year’s design challenge asked entrants to create their vision for a behavioral health clinic within a premiere healthcare space. 

“The Student Design Competition offers an opportunity to create design solutions, apply design knowledge, and develop relevant industry skills,” said IIDA Executive Vice President and CEO, Cheryl S. Durst, Hon. FIIDA. “All winners support an emerging generation of recognizable vision, talent, and hard work — vital ingredients to success in this constantly-evolving industry.” 

Entries were judged by a panel of design professionals including: Uphealing Founder and Design Principal, Lilliana Alvarado, IIDA; FCA Associate and Project Interior Designer, Alexandra Bonner, IIDA; HKS Senior Interior Designer, Ashleigh Cotter, IIDA; HDR Interior Design Principal, Kristina Johnson, IIDA; CannonDesign Associate and Interior Designer, Dani Sheley, IIDA; NBBJ Associate Interior Designer, Dehne Sibbernsen, IIDA; and OFS National Accounts Director–Healthcare, Natalie Thomas. 

“Each of this year’s entrants exhibited a high level of ingenuity and passion,” said Alvarado on behalf of the jury. “While we received a strong number of submissions, the selected winners creatively showcased the necessary elements of a high-functioning behavioral health clinic.” 


The 2022 Student Design Competition winners are: 


First Place 

Arfan Ikhsanul Amal, Hanami Martani, and Arya Putra 

Bandung Institute of Technology 

Project: Suar Behavioral Health Clinic 


Second Place 

Marygrace Lee and Molly Taylor, Student IIDA 

Mississippi State University 

Project: Willow Pediatrics Cleveland Behavioral Health 


Third Place 

Matthew Canabarro, Nayeon Kwon, Heley Yang, and Nina Yang 

Cornell University 

Project: Embark 


Winners received awards of $2,500, $1,500, and $750, respectively. All winning projects can be viewed on IIDA.org. 

leaderboard2 - default